January 26, 2015

tracting friendIt never ceases to amaze me how marvelous the workings of our God are ๐Ÿ™‚ This past week Sister Winkel and I had so many wonderful appointments with people. Those kept us pretty busy running from one place to the next. We’ve gotten to meet quite a few more people and I think we are both finally getting into the full swing of things here ๐Ÿ™‚ The Lord is definitely helping us along every step of the way ๐Ÿ™‚
sister birthday

About two weeks ago we started teaching this wonderful family about the gospel, and they are so awesome! They were taught about 20 years ago so they don’t remember everything they had learned since it’s been such a long time. As we teach them, they slowly start to remember things about the church and then before we are even done sharing about the principal the wife is sharing her testimony with us about the truthfulness of whatever it is we are talking about. It’s fabulous!

In a few weeks our little branch is putting on a Musical devotional about the Light and Life of Christ so we are all busy getting things ready for that ๐Ÿ™‚ We are trying to get people who aren’t of our faith to come and participate as well and so far we have a few who might, which is exciting! The entire purpose of the devotional is to help people here to understand that we have a strong belief in Jesus Christ. It’s on our name tags for Peteโ€™s sake! But still people like to think that we are not Christian. More than once at someoneโ€™s door I’ve had them tell me, “You don’t believe in the same Jesus that I do.” Last I checked there is only one Jesus who is the son of God and Savior of the world. That is the one that I believe in. It is in Him that I place my faith and I am so grateful for all that He did for me and for every single person on this earth.

I had a thought hit me this week when I was studying. In the scriptures it says that we must be filled with charity because without charity we are nothing. I had always taken this to mean charity for the people around you, which is exactly what it means, but I’m beginning to think there is another meaning there as well. I realized that I also need to be filled with the charity that Christ has for me. Without that I am literally nothing. More and more I have seen how that charity and love that He provided through His atoning sacrifice is exactly what is able to carry me through all the hard times. Charity is not just for other people, but it is meant for us as well ๐Ÿ™‚ The Jesus Christ who supplies that charity is the one that we are sharing a message about. This is His church and His message ๐Ÿ™‚ How grateful I am to get to be sharing that with everyone I meet ๐Ÿ™‚ I am also so very grateful that we are getting to have this devotional and spend this time thinking of Him and the endless blessings that come from His sacrifice ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a little insert from my companions email home –
“OH MY GOSH I HAVE THE BEST NEWS IN THE WORLD!!!!! The Elders in our last area went over to see R______ for the first time last week. The last time we had taught her, we talked all about baptism and invited them to pray about being baptized. Before the Elders even started their lesson, she asked if she could be baptized, along with her kids!!! What a miracle!! She had told a member of our ward that she loved the missionaries, but she would never be a convert. I just love the way the spirit can completely change our hearts. They’re getting baptized on Valentineโ€™s Day and we get to go! :)”

I think I might have mentioned R______ before. She didn’t even want her sister meeting with the mormon missionaries, but her sisters faith was incredibly strong even though she didnโ€™t have a ton of knowledge. Her faith is what inspired R______ to start meeting with the missionaries! She truly is an incredible miracle that we have gotten to watch unfold right before our eyes ๐Ÿ™‚

One last little story-
Knocking doors in our area is a little rough. The houses are spread really far apart, and there isn’t much road to park the car on.lonely road Despite all this we make it work even when it is rough. This past week we went out to knock doors and we couldn’t find a place where there were more than 3 houses in a row without a mile gap in between them. Once we had finally found a place we next had to find parking. This being done we began the long walk. At first we encountered a not so friendly mama dog, but no worries, nothing too crazy happened there. We were able to pass by her with little to no problems except for a little fear in our souls. Not many people listened to our message, but the cool part came at the end. It had been stressful and tiring, but as we were coming up the hill back to our car God gave us a blessing- Right as we topped the hill an incredibly breath taking sunset came into full view just as it was reaching its climax ๐Ÿ™‚ It was incredible and a tender mercy from our loving Heavenly Father ๐Ÿ™‚tender mercy sky
I love you and the church is true!
Sister Mignonne Rogers ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

