November 3, 2014

So last week when I said that I was almost all better I guess I lied. Turns out that I’m still sick today, but no worries it is only a minor cold now, when previously it was a lot worse. Bad news is that I gave my sickness to Sister Griffeth, so now both of us have been epically fighting off a stinking illness that is simply quite bothersome!
So last Monday Sister Griffeth and I decided we would carve pumpkins so we got the other people in our district involved and just had a grand old time of it 🙂Florence district Our pumpkins name is Susan 😉 pumpkin1While we were carving these three seventh grade girls came over to talk with us about what we were doing. They were sooooo funny! One girl said, “Wait, so if ya’ll are priests, why are you celebrating the devils birthday?” Obviously she was a little confused. Those silly girls also couldn’t fathom how we got along without our own phones. How would we talk to our boyfriends? Did we just take turns? Oh lol the simple minds of the junior high school girl. It was pretty hilarious!
Tuesday I got to go on exchanges with Sister Dagupan which was super fun 🙂Sister d We did a lot of door knocking, and no one really wanted to listen to us, but we had a good time while doing it anyways 🙂
Wednesday was the church Halloween party 🙂 We weren’t technically supposed to dress up so Sister Griffeth and I wore our normal clothes but with a purpose lol We have a man who recently converted to the church and he calls all of the missionaries that visit him, “my angels.” It isn’t in a creepy way at all, but he was in a really rough place when the missionaries first started visiting with him and they have helped him change for the better 🙂 So we are his angels sent straight from God to him 🙂 So for the party we were “Allen’s Angels.”allens angels Also a fun thing- the missionaries got to be the judges for the chili cook off. Some of the chili was soooo hot (temperature) that we burnt off our taste buds and couldn’t really taste the rest of them. Sister Griffeth was going before me so she got the worst of it. It’s always so much fun when we get to visit with the ward members 🙂
Thursday we had a really wonderful time in the town at the edge of our area 🙂 We visited with a woman and her husband who isn’t a member and she committed to start studying her scriptures better. We will be meeting with her next week and hopefully we can start slowly working him into studying as well 🙂 We also had a super great visit with our investigators that we had help stack wood last week and they are totally reading the Book of Mormon and praying to find out if it is true, which is so fantastic! When we were going to leave the husband said the closing prayer and he thanked God for bringing the Mormons into his family’s life 🙂 It was wonderful! The church is true!
Halloween wasn’t too crazy for us. We really didn’t have anything too spooky happen except that weird random things kept occurring lizardand the weather was rather ominous. Besides that nothing much happened.
Saturday there was a wonderful baptism in the morning 🙂 Sister Bobbie was baptized. The other sisters that are in our ward have been working with her and she was ready to make those lasting commitments with God 🙂 The service was beautiful and she was so happy and just simply glowing 🙂
So I think I might have mentioned this before, but Sister Griffeth is trained in ballroom dance. This past Saturday was a youth dance and the ward had gotten permission from our mission president for her to teach the youth how to dance. Lucky me, I got to be her dance partner lol It was so much fun! We taught them to waltz, cha cha, dip and spin. All the kids were such great sports about it as well. When we had finished the instructional part the DJ hadn’t arrived yet and since I had been DJing during the dance instruction I just kept DJing the dance until he finally showed up lol It was a crazy night. Who’d have thought that I would get to attend a youth dance while on my mission! danceIt was so nice to get to talk with the youth in our ward and get to know them each a little better 🙂 On Sunday we had people telling us that even after we had left the kids were still waltzing and cha chaing, so that was nice to hear that they were actually applying what they had learned 🙂
Sunday was wonderful. We had some amazing testimonies shared 🙂 This past week we had one young man return home from his mission and another one that is super good friends with the kid that just got home, get his mission call after a good year of preparing and working to become worthy. First the young man who had just finished his mission got up and spoke about the amazing effect the mission has had on his life 🙂 It was wonderful to hear him speak of the miracles and the changes he has seen in himself. Then the young man who just got his call got up and spoke on the power of repentance and how the atonement has worked in his life. What wonderful examples they both are. Over and over they said, “If you are considering serving a mission, stop considering and just do it! If you aren’t even considering it, then change your mind. You won’t regret it!” I add my testimony to theirs. There is nothing quite as sweet as getting to share the message of the restoration with God’s children. This message is one that truly changes people. To be able to see that change come, see the light enter eyes that were once searching and lost… there is nothing quite like it. Don’t consider it. Don’t have it be a possibility. Just do it! You will never regret your choice. God makes it possible for even the simplest of people to become beautiful instruments in His hands. As a missionary, we aren’t just serving a mission, I truly believe He is serving us on our missions. He is teaching us what we need for the rest of our lives and helping us to build strong sure foundations. I am so grateful for my mission and all that is has taught me thus far, and all that the Lord has yet to teach me in the upcoming months. I feel so very blessed to have this incredible opportunity.
Now for the miracles and tender mercies from this week. After church on Sunday Sister Griffeth was feeling super sick, but we really wanted to get the work done. This week has been hard. This area is a little hard. We will knock doors for hours and never even get to talk to anyone because the response is, “I’m (insert religion, typically it’s Baptist), I’m not interested,” cue door slam. Sunday Sister Griffeth was sick, I had a headache. It was cold outside, we had been knocking doors for a few hours and it was going to be dark soon. At one door the man was short with us and as we walked back to the road my eyes filled with tears. None of them fell, because I pulled myself together quickly, but all I could do was wonder, “What could I have done more to help you to listen? You don’t even know what you are rejecting. The message we bring has so much peace and understanding. Heavenly Father, what could I have done more?” It made me think of 3 Nephi chapter 10. This message is being shared, but so many people reject it without any understanding of what it is they are saying no to. After all this and feelings of doubt as to the effectiveness of knocking doors in that area, we then met 3 different people almost in a row that were ready to receive the message we were bringing! If we endure our trials with patience then we will receive a great reward 🙂 Sometimes the miracles don’t come quite so quickly, but I know that the Lord truly blessed us then.
The last story I wanted to share with you happened on Sunday evening as well. We were passing by a house where we had met the lady a few weeks ago and she had been very kind. She is home bound and so we had decided that every now and again we would try to stop in and visit her to help lift her spirits. So we went and visited with her and then we began to share with her a little about the Restoration of the gospel, but as we are sharing the message with her she started to talk about her deceased husband. She held back tears as she explained that she is worried that she will never get to see him again or at least if she does see him again that their relationship would no longer be the same. It broke my heart to hear that she didn’t know that she could be with her family forever. It truly does make me so sad the some religions put family priority on such a back burner that people don’t have the knowledge that they will be able to be in their loving family unit for all eternity. Why would God give us such a gift to merely take it away in the future? My God is far more loving than that. The spirit was there so strong as I was able to share my solid testimony with her that she will be with her husband again someday as loving husband and wife. At first she responded that she knows that she should try to have faith that that might be how it is. I told her that she can have knowledge in that fact, and that God will give her that knowledge if she wants to know. I know that families are eternal. I have received my answer from the Lord. I have felt the spirit testify that fact to me. I am not longer riding on faith in this regard. I know that I will be with the ones that I love. I am grateful to be able to have this knowledge and sure witness from God. We have a truly loving and merciful Heavenly Father and I am grateful for how He willing demonstrates this and His awareness of me so frequently.
I love you and this church is true!
Sister Mignonne Rogers 🙂
the field is

Leave a Reply

