October 8, 2014

I am now in Mississippi, near Jackson! Yes, I have finally made it to Mississippi on my mission! For a second there I thought I might spend my entire time serving in the Mississippi Jackson Mission in a state other then what you’d assume lol My new companion is Sister Griffith and she seems like a true sweet heart ๐Ÿ™‚
This last week in Bossier City, Sister Helms and I, worked hard trying to contact people we had met last week and finding new people to teach. We were also very busy trying to meet with as many members and less active members as possible. My typical missionary life each day is made up of going out and working hard from earlier morning to late at night. My days are filled with miracles, blessings, trials, embarrassment, humiliation, conviction and a strong testimony of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Sometimes we get to see the fruits of our labors and sometimes the simple tender mercies from God are the things that get us through our days. This week my companion and I experienced trials that we really were not expecting or ready for, but I can testify that the Lord is aware of all things and He will send His comforter (the holy spirit) to help you see how He is leading you. Thank goodness for the atonement of Jesus Christ. Thank goodness for the power and liberation that comes through repentance.
As a side note –
Missionaries are not perfect. We are humans. We are servants. We are trying. Almost always our minds are on a thousand different things at once. When we come to church we are hoping and praying we will see a less active person that we are working with or an investigator coming through those church doors as well. We spend hours and hours out each day teaching, finding, praying, and hurting for those that we meet. Sometimes we do not do everything the way that others might think it needs to be done because they have done it differently or seen it done differently somewhere else. We do not teach lessons, we teach people. We are not each manufactured to work the same way, which in all honestly is a complete blessing. We are truly working. We are trying our best. We are away from our families and we are giving all the love we have to those we meet. I think in most situations if a missionary does something you don’t like it isn’t to spite you, but it’s probably because they are oblivious to the issue. Actually I think that can apply to most situations, not just dealing with missionaries, but with others in the church or even just everyday people. We are not all out to get each other! At least last I checked that wasn’t the case. I know I am even guilty of thinking this sometimes and I am going to try very hard to not assume that anyone is trying to do me harm. That is just such an exhausting way to live.
Miracles happened this week! We had 4 of our investigators watch General Conference with us!!!!!! It was incredible, and such a wonderful way to get to spend my last weekend in Bossier City ๐Ÿ™‚ What a wonderful, awesome blessing!!!! I am running short on time, but if you didn’t have time to watch conference or you don’t even know what it is, go check it out! It is an marvelous spiritual boost for the next 6 months of your life! Who could ask for more than that!? – https://www.lds.org/general-conference/sessions/2014/10?cid=HPSU100514465&lang=eng
I love you and the church is true!
Sister Mignonne Rogers ๐Ÿ™‚ 1 year

Leave a Reply

