September 8th, 2014

I love my mission 🙂seeking the light
We got to go out with some of the sisters in our ward and visit with a sister who has been going through an incredible amount of terrible things. I won’t go into detail of all the horrible things that have befallen her, but I wanted to mention her because each week she still comes to church with strong faith and a smile on her face. It doesn’t matter what happened that month, week, or day she will still be at the church because she knows where her strength comes from. I hadn’t realized what her example had meant to me until we were over visiting with her and I started to cry as I told her what she means to me. We need more rocks like her in the building of the Lord’s kingdom. Just as important as having the rocks that are there, is supporting those rocks and letting them know what their example means to you. The experience really built my testimony of the importance of quiet, strong examples. If you have a quiet strong person in your life that comes to mind, I would strongly suggest letting them know what their example means to you 🙂
Sister Helms was sick alot of the week 😦 We had a new elder come in to our district that was sick and he got most of the district sick. Sharing is caring right? Poor Sister Helms was pretty much down and out, but then we had an awesome miracle happen. Two of our elders came over and gave Sister Helms a blessing and before the day was over we were able to get out of the house and go teach quite a few lessons! It was fabulous 🙂
quilting service

We had a great lesson with one of our less actives. She and her grandson (who isn’t a member) actually read from the Book of Mormon!!!! Even better… she came to church for the first time this Sunday for the first time in who know how long!!! I cried when I saw her there and I just beamed all the way through church because I was soooooo happy she had come! 3 Nephi 18:32 “Nevertheless, ye shall not cast him out of your synagogues, or your places of worship, for unto such shall ye continue to minister; for ye know not but what they will return and repent, and come unto me with full purpose of heart, and I shall heal them; and ye shall be the means of bringing salvation unto them.” D&C 18: 15 And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!” I was so happy and just thinking about it makes me that happy all over again 🙂
district chart
I love you and the church is true!
Sister Mignonne Rogers 🙂
Hey everyone!

On Sunday we got to teach this awesome guy! He’s the guy that came out yelling wanting the Book of Norman. We asked him how his reading in the Book of Mormon is going and he was like “Well I’m in chapter 16″…..he’s so awesome!!! He’s even trying to apply it to his life. He’s trying to follow Lehi’s example and be a good father to his 10 year old son. We set him with a baptism date and he said he’d come to church! I’m just so excited for him because he’s such a sweet and humble man. He honestly wants to have Jesus in his life and do what’s right 🙂
A less active that we’ve been working with came to church on Sunday. She hasn’t been to church in years and she loved it!! Everyone was coming up and talking to her and making her feel at home 🙂 This is what missionary work is all about. Helping others find Christ and helping those who have lost sight of him get back on that path.
I hope y’all have an amazing week and a Jesus filled day!

Love,
Sister Rebecca Helms

Leave a Reply

