June 9, 2014

I have had such an incredible week filled with miracles!
I have a new companion, her name is Sister Helms. She’s from Meridian Idaho and is absolutely fantastic! I couldn’t be more blessed!sister helms The Lord has blessed us so much this week 🙂
The first time going out tracting together was quite the adventure. At one door we knocked on Sister Helms said, “Hi, we are out sharing a wonderful message about our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.” The man, with a scowl on his face, replied, “he may be yours but he’s not mine,” and slammed the door in our face. A few doors later a woman opened the door and we cheerfully said hello and told her our names. Without cracking a smile she asked, “Can I help you?” Not to be deterred I responded smiling, “Actually we wanted to know if we might be able to help you.” She rolled her eyes disgustedly and slammed the door. That was an adventure! Thus goes some of our missionary life.
We were able to attend a Latin Mass at a lovely Cathedral with some friends and their little girl this week:)on the way home from mass

wow

mass
For the record, IT IS NASTY STICKY DOWN HERE! We did quite a bit of door knocking this week and yesterday I went to move my bag from off my hip and there was a circle of sweat there about the size of a cantaloupe! So gross! We sweat so much that we have to wipe our hands off an our skirts before shaking peoples’ hands 😛 I know, it’s so nasty.
The heat is worth it though because this week has definitely been a week of miracles. While we were tracting this past Thursday we ran into a less active member. When we knocked he let us right in and we were super confused. He took a look at our confused but happy faces and said, “Wait, ya’ll didn’t know I was a member did you?” Oh the tender mercies of the Lord 🙂 That man really needed the visit that day and we are going to start visiting with him more often to help him get back to church!
Friday while we were tracting we hadn’t had much luck and then as we were finishing up we came to the house of a woman who seemed like she has had a pretty rough go. As we talked with her she began to cry as she told us of the struggles she has in her life. It was very emotional and such a wonderful opportunity for us to share with her how much her Father in Heaven loves her.
Saturday one of the people we were planning on visiting wasn’t home so we decided to tract. We met a woman that invited us in and we had an incredible visit with her and the spirit was there so strong. At one point I said something and she started to cry saying, “It’s like you knew what I was thinking.” The Lord knew what she was thinking and He prompted both me and Sister Helms on what to say to help this woman come closer to Him. It was absolutely a miracle 🙂 I’m so grateful that the Lord was willing to use us as his tools to help comfort the aching heart of one of His children. We had three other similar experiences that week. It truly has been an incredible week. I feel so blessed get to be a missionary 🙂 We also had more than one person who in tears told us that they knew that God had sent us to them because they had been praying for help and looking for answers. Wow. All I can say is that God is so very in charge of this work!epic clouds
I know that there is no such thing as chance in this work. Again and again I am reminded that God is in charge. He leads His missionaries to where they need to be and He prepares the hearts of those we visit. I know this is the work of God. I know that we are able to be forgiven and be made clean again. I am so very grateful for this knowledge and how it helps to shape my life. I know that the Book of Mormon goes hand in hand with the bible and helps us to come closer to our Father in heaven. I’m so grateful that the Lord is willing to use me in this incredible work.
I love you and the church is true!
Sister Mignonne Rogers 🙂 pump organ

Leave a Reply

