May 5, 2014

Happy 5th of May!!!
So I don’t believe I said this before, but Gladys Knight came to town! gladys knightDid you know she’s a member of our church? Well she sure is 🙂 She was in town this past week with her choir “Saints Unified Voices”(SUV) and we got to go! It was actually a major missionary devotional that she goes around doing. The choir sang some incredible gospel music that really made me miss my choir days and Sister Knight shared her conversion story and a very powerful testimony! It was all absolutely incredible!!! If you have a chance you should go look up videos of the choir. They are so awesome! Grammy Award winning for gospel music! I never heard white people sing soul music that well before, and it’s all because of Gladys Knight and the incredible talents that God has blessed her with 🙂 For the past two months we have been inviting everyone to come and see the devotional. Three entire congregations of Baptists were invited. Hundreds of people came and many of them were not from our faith 🙂 At the end of the devotional, if the people liked what they’d heard they could fill out a request card to have a gift bag brought to their house. In the gift bag is a CD of the SUV choir, a Book of Mormon, and a DVD of the Restoration. During the Devotional a wonderful speaker explained the power of music and another explained the Restoration. The day after the event we received the request card and the gift bags to go and bring to people. We met one woman who when we asked her what her favorite part of the devotional was she responded, “Gladys’s testimony. She left me with a lot to think about and me and my friends are planning on attending on of your services soon.” That’s like the missionaries dream response!!! Wow miracles are happening here in Bossier! I am so grateful for Gladys Knight and her incredible talent that she is so ready to share! She knows what the Lord wants her to do and she’s doing it and making an amazing impact on the lives of so many people! I have so much respect for that woman and the work she is doing!!! She is so amazing!!!
Other stories this week-
We were heading out to tract and I missed the road I was supposed to turn down. I went to turn around in a trailer park, and Sister Bonnie realized that she had never tracted there, so we parked the car and got out to tract. Just a few doors in a girl pulled in across the street and when she got out we realized that it was a girl from the library that we had talked with before. It was perfect timing because we were just walking away from a house as she pulled in and we headed over to talk with her. She invited us in and as we were sitting chatting with her and getting to know her better her roommate who is never up at that time because she works the graveyard shift came into the room. Apparently her parents are members, but don’t attend anymore more, and her grandma is a member as well! There is no such thing as “chance” people! The Lord knew exactly where we needed to be! We were able to share a wonderful lesson with them and then we are planning on going back and visiting with them again soon!kenzicinco de mayo
We met this man last week that had told us that he believes there’s a God but he’s never really felt anything before so he stopped going to church. He has searched for a religion and came up dry. When we went to his door he quickly told us that he didn’t want to waste our time and that we might as well keep going, but as we kept talking with him the spirit directed us to share Alma 32 with him. We encouraged him to pray and then read from that chapter and he would get his answer. We told him that if he didn’t feel anything then we would come back and get the Book of Mormon from him the next week. Yesterday we went back and when he saw it was us at the door he went and grabbed the book prepared to give it back. He asked us a few questions about it which we were happy to answer. Then it was our turn to ask a few questions. My first question was if he had gotten down on his knees and prayed before reading. Just as the spirit had quietly witnessed to me his answer was that he had not. I am usually not super pushy at doors, but when the spirit pushes you then you better listen or forever regret it! I took the Book of Mormon that he had handed my companion and handed it back to him. I explained that I typically wasn’t this pushy, but I knew that he needed to pray and read the book and he would be answered. He told me that he really wasn’t that into praying. He said, “I know that God can see how grateful I am for all he does, I don’t see why I’d have to tell him.” I told him that his wife knows that he loves her, but she likes to hear it every now and again as well. God loves him and wants to hear from him. It was intense. He had told us before that he doesn’t ever feel anything, well I know he felt something as we spoke with him. If he chooses to deny it then that is his choice, but both Sister Bonnie and I saw in his face that he was feeling the spirit there just as strongly as we were. He may not fully understand what he is feeling, but he felt the spirit witnessing to him the truthfulness of our words. When the scriptures say that the people were pricked in their hearts that is basically what happened there.
The spirit is real, God is real and His son did walk on this earth, die for each of us and provided the opportunity for us to be able to return to live with our Father in Heaven. This work we are doing out here is the work of Salvation. We are inviting souls to come closer to their God and they have their agency to listen to us or turn away. Read the Book of Mormon and pray, on your knees to know the truthfulness and you will receive an answer. I must sound like a broken record, but really people, I speak the truth. Don’t knock it till you try it 😉
I love you and the church is true!!!
Sister Mignonne Rogers 🙂 kaylakayla 1

Leave a Reply

