January 27, 2014

leslie Sister Rigby, (soon to be) Sister Leslie Smith and Sister Rogers!
My goodness….I should be getting a new companion this week! That is going to be super weird because I’ve been with Sister Rigby since I got to this mission! My new companion is going to be Sister Totterer, and apparently she is fabulous 🙂 Transfers were supposed to be tomorrow, but due to terrible weather they are being postponed to Thursday. That means two more fun filled days with Rigby 🙂
This past week has been filled with tearful goodbyes between Sister Rigby and the people here in Slidell. Tears aside, it has been a good week though-
Los Tres Amigos-unbirthday

crazy hat
On Wednesday night Trace Hearn (we ate the raw oysters at his house) took us out for a goodbye dinner to Rigby. When we got there his wife Artis gave Rigby a hug and told her happy birthday. Rigby just looked confused and we all went and sat down to eat. As we finished up our meal the staff came out singing happy birthday, and placed a huge sombrero on Sister Rigby’s head! It was so funny I nearly died laughing! Sister Rigby was sooooooo confused! As the staff walked away Brother Hearn explained that he wanted to make this going away dinner extra special for Rigby lol Nothing more special then getting happy birthday sang to you at a Mexican restaurant when it isn’t your birthday lol Trace is an inactive member of our church and Artis isn’t a member. All through dinner they drank quite a bit and by the time we were finishing up with our meals they had quite a bit of alcohol in their system. Trace started laying into us with what he felt like was wrong with our church. He pointed out changes that have been made in the times since the church was restored. One of the things he pointed out was the age change. He said that the church just makes changes as it feels like. He really doesn’t understand modern revelation. Atis also had quite a few questions. I was given the opportunity to share my testimony of the importance of having a prophet on the earth today. I know that Thomas S. Monson is a prophet of God. As I shared I know that the spirit was there. The experience was able to strengthen my testimony so much! I hadn’t even realized how strongly I knew some of the things I testified until I was saying them! I know that Christ has restored his church on the earth today. I know Joseph Smith did in fact see God the Father and His son Jesus Christ. I know Thomas S. Monson is the Lords Prophet on the earth today and he receives revelation to lead and guide God’s children. I know that I am serving the Lord in and this is the work he wants His children to be involved in. Shall we not go on in so great a cause?! The worth of every soul is great in the eyes of God. They all want to know this glorious message we have to share with them! Don’t be afraid to open your mouth and share the good tidings of great joy that we have been given 🙂
I’m sorry this letter isn’t super long this week! Mostly we went around saying farewells.
I love you and the gospels true!
Sister Mignonne Rogers 🙂 (This silly shirt was a gift from Sister Rigby:) sorry misterlouisianna sunset

Leave a Reply

