December 30, 2013

Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!!!

I am so blessed! Christmas away from home could not have been better! The people down here let us into their homes and treated us just like family, to say the least we were spoiled 🙂

Christmas Eve- We spent the afternoon at the Pritchett’s. We got to watch the children open their gifts and they had quite the meal prepared for us, it was awesome! Elder Kremer was playing the piano and Brother Pritchett asked if he could have the next dance. (Brother Pritchett is completely paralyzed on his right side and stuck in his wheelchair.) I told him of course and I took his good hand and just swayed while I talked to him 🙂 I love him so much! The house was filled with music, laughter and family 🙂 After the Pritchetts’ we went to the Kirby’s. Sister Kirby had prepared a special music/scripture (like the one we do at home) that we all got to participate it. Just before the program began they realized their cat Mr. Jefferson was missing. There granddaughter started to cry because she was so worried about him. We went cat hunting and were able to find the silly fuzz ball. We were afraid all the craziness might have scared away the spirit, but as soon as the program started the spirit was there. It’s so wonderful how hymns can bring the spirit so quickly to 🙂 We also sang happy birthday to Jesus. That was something I’d never done before. And then we all enjoyed birthday cake to celebrate the savior’s birth 🙂

Christmas Day- For my studies I focused on how the Savior’s birth and death affect the people in the Americas. It is incredible to me how much love the Lord always had for his people. The Lord says, “Lift up your head and be of good cheer; for behold, the time is at hand, and on this night shall the sign be given, and on the morrow come I into the world to show unto the world that I will fulfill all that which I have caused to be spoken by the mouth of my holy prophets.” I know I can put my trust in the Lord because he knows far better than I do. If I strive to follow his teachings then he will take care of me, because he has promised over and over again in the scriptures that he will. “And behold all that he requires of you is to keep his commandments; and he has promised you that if you would keep his commandments he should prosper you in the land; and he never doth vary from that which he hath said; therefore, if ye do keep his commandments he doth bless you and prosper you.” I’m not saying that that God will make my life perfect or that I will never face trials in my life. What I am saying is that God always keeps his promises. I know that as I put my faith in him he will bring joy and blessings into my life that I may not even comprehend. I am so grateful for the gift of the atonement. I know that Christ has taken upon himself the pains of the world and he is willing and wanting to help us. “Behold, I am Jesus Christ whom the prophets testified shall come into the world. And behold, I am the light and the life of the world; and I have drunk out of the bitter cup which the Father hath given me and have glorified the father in taking upon me the sins of the world, in the which I have suffered the will of the Father in all things from the beginning.” We are so blessed to live in this day when the gospel is once again fully on the earth! I love being a missionary and getting to share this wonderful message with all those that, “have ears to hear, let them hear.”

I opened my packages from my loving family and I’m so grateful they thought of me and sent me things to help bring in the Christmas spirit 🙂 All the missionaries had breakfast over at the Parkers (a senior missionary couple that work at the employment center), and then the elders got on and called or skyped their parents. I sat in the front room singing Christmas songs to pass the time. I also found myself a tie and learned how to tie a tie 4 different ways. I only remember two of the four knots, but hey at least it’s a start. Then we went over to the Ross’s for dinner. I got to call my fabulous family from their place and it was just sooooo awesome to get to talk to my family 🙂 It was a wonderful Christmas day!

Thursday- The Sister Training Leaders (female version of Zone Leaders) came to go on exchanges with Sister Rigby and I. I got to go with Sister Cottrell. She is a fabulous sister and I’m very grateful for all the awesome things I was able to learn from her. We tracted into a man from Moscow Russian. He had a  super thick accents and was pretty friendly. He wasn’t interested in the gospel, but it was still nice to get to meet him. His accent made me miss all of my awesome Russian friends. We also had a random man walk up to us and tell us to go visit this house that was just down the road. We did not go to the house because I’m positive that man was high as a kite and he smelled like marijuana. Oh the interesting things that happen when you’re knocking on random people’s doors.

Friday and Saturday- Sister Rigby was sick sick sick so we didn’t get to do much 😦

Sunday – We visited a sweet elderly lady in an assisted living center. She is so adorable and every time we leave she tells us to not forget about her. She is classy and sassy and 89 years old. I love that lady 🙂 We also got to talk with a potential investigator and he said that he is trying to get his Sundays off so he can come to church! Yay!

Good news- Do you remember Tia? We were teaching her when I first got out here and then she moved to Florida. Well… She got baptized!!! She called us up on Saturday morning letting us know that she was headed to the church for her baptism 🙂 After wards she called us to tell is, “I fell different. I feel better.” I’m so happy for her 🙂 She is such a wonderful lady and I’m so glad that she has chosen to follow the example of Jesus Christ and be baptized by the proper authority, taking upon herself the name of Christ. What a wonderful thing 🙂

I love you and the gospels true!

Sister Mignonne Rogers 🙂

cropped-unnamed-69.jpgsnowman yumcropped-cropped-unnamed-9612.jpgunnamed (86)unnamed (68)unnamed (87)unnamed (100)rogers and rigbyrigby snowman

Leave a Reply

